Ready…Set… TEACH!

 

Image

My first week of student teaching is now complete. Boom. We found out late afternoon last Sunday what our student teaching assignments were, and then we were thrown into the gauntlet of noob lesson planning. My first night of lesson planning took me about 5-7 hours… for TWO one hour periods of classes the next day. I believe I got about 4 hours of sleep that night. 

Luckily, lesson planning became easier by day three because I finally got a good feel of how to use lesson plans, mostly realising that a lesson PLAN is only a PLAN and how often do PLANS go according to PLAN? So simple, right? This realisation made all the difference. I relaxed, listened to my students, and was actually able to see their level of comprehension or their need for further explanation. YAY! Plus, being relaxed made my students more comfortable and made them more willing to participate. Score.

Anyway, I’m totally exhausted and sick from the lack of sleep I got this week. Besides that, I’m loving everything. I’m a little bit sad that I’m not staying in Cambodia because the people here are so welcoming, kind, and just plain wonderful. If China doesn’t work out, I’m coming back here and setting up shop.

4 thoughts on “Ready…Set… TEACH!”

Tell Chloe what you think...

